An Interview with Mr Badalibavani

Mibu Tako

In this series, Marymount Messenger brings opportunities for readers to get to know the new staff members who joined the school community recently. Read below for Mr Badalibavani, our new maths teacher’s responses to some interview questions.

Tell us a little about yourself.
I am a Middle eastern who is coming from Iran. I can speak English, Persian, Kurdish, Turkish and a bit Arabic.

How come you can speak such a wide range of languages?
Well Kurdish is my mother tongue, Persian is first and official language in Iran, and I come from Urmia city which is in border of Turkey and through trips to there I have picked the language. I also have studied Arabic at school and have learned a bit speaking while I was in Iraq. I attended English lessons when I was 14 in private institutions in my city.

What made you come to Marymount?
I believe what made me come to Marymount was the philosophy of teaching in this school , IB. I love teaching the way that makes maths meaningful for students and link it to the real world, so they don’t think it is a boring subject. I found Marymount the perfect place to continue my career with joy in UK.

What’s something you’re interested in that people wouldn’t guess about you?
Mmmmmm , maybe that I have studied engineering and started teaching when I was 19!!!

It’s very interesting that you started teaching at the age of 19. Could you explain your experience further?
Regarding the experience, I started teaching in the private sector in a college when I was 19 and carried on till graduated from university and while doing compulsory military service in Iran.
After doing military service, at the age of 24, I moved to Kurdistan in Iraq and started teaching Maths and Physics in an International School. Later, I was appointed as the head of department for Maths and physics. When I was 29, due to some political reasons I returned to Iran and did one year teaching in the college where I used to work before.
Then I moved to UK and got QTS (Qualified Teacher Status) through King’s College London and I am here now 🙂

What do you do in your spare time?
I like to walk particularly alone, reading books, listening to music.

What are your preferences in books and music?
I am interested in psychology and pick books related to development. Music is the hard one to talk about, my interest can vary a lot depending on the time, though tunes are my favourites (too early for my age I guess! ).

If you had to describe yourself in three words, what would they be?
Patient, sincere, hardworking!

What are you most looking forward to about being here?
Looking forward to gaining the most from this lovely community and dedicating the most as well.